top of page

The Classroom as a Practice Field:  My Hawkeye Lunch & Learn Lecture

I recently served as the October Hawkeye Lunch & Learn lecturer at the University of Iowa. The University of Iowa Office of Outreach and Engagement conducts the lecture series, which aims to strengthen connections between the university and the community with free noon-hour presentations by faculty, staff and alumni. The program showcases diverse work being done on campus and increases the knowledge of how Iowans can collaborate with the university for the betterment of the state. I presented once on campus in Iowa City and once in Des Moines at Iowa’s Pappajohn Education Center.

When originally contacted, I was asked to “speak about your work and the importance of connecting students to real-world projects and experiences;” therefore, I titled my lecture “The Classroom as a Practice Field” and focused on unique experiential learning opportunities offered through the Sport and Recreation Management program that I lead. During the process of developing the hour-long presentation, it evolved into three main areas of concentration:

  1. My career path in college and pro sports and how my background inspired me to emphasize practical experience after joining the Iowa faculty.

  2. The sport business field trips that I lead each semester and the Sport and Recreation Management practicum courses: background on the origin of those programs during my first year at Iowa and what they have grown into.

  3. Encouragement for fellow faculty members to consider where they can add experiential learning to their courses for enhanced student outcomes, and for community members to connect with a professor teaching in their area of expertise to see if there is a way to contribute to an experiential learning project that will support the professional development of students.

The presentations were well-attended by campus and community members, including nine of my former students in Des Moines who are now working in the sport industry and came out to hear their old professor lecture one more time. Audiences at both locations asked terrific questions and stayed after to visit. I loved the experience and felt honored to be part of such a meaningful outreach program – thank you to everyone who supported it! A full video of my Iowa City lecture can be accessed below.

bottom of page